Like many states in the country, Louisiana demands that each motorist carries an absolute minimum liability policy for their car to cover damages to the other person’s property and any hospital bills they suffer from the accident. The minimum prerequisites for bodily injury liability and property damage liability in the state of Louisiana are 15,000/30,000/25,000.
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
In the event the insured party is held answerable for the accident, bodily injury liability covers the hospital charges for passengers in the other automobile. If the minimum coverage is purchased the insurance firm will pay $15,000 for a single person up to $30,000 for all passengers concerned in the accident.
Property Damage Liability
This sort of insurance covers damages to the other person’s automobile as well as public or private property which might have been concerned in the accident. Under minimum coverage the insurer will pay up to $25,000 to cover losses sustained in the accident.
If you have a lapse in your insurance in the state of Louisiana then you may be required to pay the following fees to reinstate your license:
1 to 10 days uninsured – fee: $0
11 to 20 days uninsured – fee: $50.00
31 – 90 days uninsured – fee: $125.00
Over 90 days uninsured – fee: $225.00
An important thing to realize in the State of Louisiana is if you are not going to be using your vehicle you cannot simply let your insurance lapse. You are required to file a statement of “non-use” to the office of motor vehicles (OMV) and you have to submit it ten days before the insurance lapses. The other option is to bring your license plate to OMV and you will not incur any fees to reinstate your license.
Also, Louisiana is following tort law with respect to car insurance and people who are hurt in an auto accident which was not their fault have rights to bring the at-fault driver to court. Louisiana has mandated drivers have at least liability coverage to mitigate the amounts of lawsuits and/or court claims.
Louisiana Local Car Insurance Agents
Another important fact, the state is using a reporting system with the insurers and brokers to track down those that are uninsured which has been effective in Bossier City, Crowley, and Morgan City, LA. Even if you are not driving your vehicle, you could receive a letter in the mail stating you are uninsured then the applicable fees above will apply if you want to reinstate your policy.
It is recommended in the state to carry comprehensive and collision cover because of the location, particularly in larger cities such as New Orleans, La Place, and Metairie. The state is know for hurricanes and heavy rains which may damage your vehicle and “non-collision” or comprehensive will cover the damages. If you have an unforeseen accident with another vehicle, then collision cover is going to cover the damages until the insurer will determine who is at-fault.
If you are paying higher than the state average for car insurance then you can use the comparison system to compare rates of insurers in your area. It takes only a couple of minutes and you could find a rate that may save hundreds of dollars.