The state of Maryland has recently raised the minimum requirements to drive legal. The current minimum is 30,000/60,000/15,000. The first two numbers are for bodily injury liability and the last number is for property damage liability.
Enter Your Zip and Get Free Quotes No Hassel - No Obligation
Or Click to Call 855-233-7818 -- Agents Ready to Serve You!
In simple terms the state requirements for liability insurance the insurer will pay $30,000 to the injured driver in the other vehicle and up to $60,000 dollars to the injured passengers in the other vehicle. The insurer will pay a maximum of $15,000 dollars to any property that may have been damage in the accident to the other vehicle.
Maryland has implement “no-fault” rules to help keep the price of insurance charges low as well as lowering the quantity of court actions which are being filed annually by drivers. Under the no fault rules, each person’s insurance will cover their doctor’s bills with no regard for who was to blame in the accident.
Since the state is no-fault then each driver is required to carry Personal Injury Protection or (PIP) insurance. Personal Injury Protection coverage supplies the advantages for medical and any disability expenses up to $2,500 for all reasonable costs from an accident.
In Maryland full (PIP) insurance provide protection for you, your passengers, and members of your family. If you elect to have limited PIP then you, your family members, and other passengers are not protected under limited PIP; however, in this instance, the state would need knowledge of an existing health insurance plan you may have.
There are instances where the other driver can bring the at-fault driver to court or litigation. If the doctor’s expenses surpass an (anywhere from $2,500 to $10,000) amount or if the accident is presumed too harsh, the at-fault party can be held responsible for the other driver’s damages.
When you are comparing auto insurance quotes you want to realize banks and lending institutions require all drivers to have full coverage for the automobiles if they are going to be financed.
Also, to avoid any penalties or fees you want to be sure to return your license plate and registration card to the Motor Vehicle Administration (MVA) when you have canceled your insurance premium. Another important aspect of driving in Maryland is when in accident the driver without insurance is going to be “at-fault” which is common in Baltimore, Annapolis, Hagerstown, and Rockville.
At Autoinsuresavings we want you to be able to find the lowest rate possible for your vehicle while maintaining the same or more coverage. The best way to do this is to compare more than three quotes to be sure you are saving. Be sure your credit report is accurate and maintain a good driving record. If you have any traffic violation consider taking a defensive driver course to help off-set the increase in insurance rates.
Need a local agent? Try these cities: