Massachusetts is a no-fault state. In a no-fault state, each driver’s insurer is needed to pay for the insured’s medical costs with no regard for who caused the accident. For that reason, each motorist is needed to get Personal Injury Protection (PIP) which covers hospital costs, lost wages, and funeral costs if required. The minimum amount PIP is $8,000 and is the most common amount on most insurance plans.
The minimum requirement for liability in the state of MA:
Table of Contents
Bodily Injury Liability
If the insured individual is at-fault in an accident, bodily injury liability covers the other driver’s and their passenger’s hospital charges. Under the minimum coverage, the insurance firm will pay $20,000 for a singe person with up to $40,000 for all people involved in the car accident.
Property Damage Liability
To help cover damages to the other person’s car or damage to public property like a place of business or personal property like somebody’s mailbox each driver must have at least $5000 in property damage liability protection.
The amount of PIP insurance can rely on the person’s health insurance plan, therefore, most drivers have the minimum amount of personal injury protection.
Having the minimum coverage is required to drive legal in the state of Massachusetts. It is always a good idea to get more coverage for any unforeseen accidents which may occur. Although there are minimums the average amount of coverage in the state is as follows:
Bodily Injury Liability; 100,000 – 300,000
Property Damage Liability; 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection; 100,000 – 300,000
Personal Injury Protection; 8,000
Collision Cover; $500 deductible
Comprehensive Cover; $500 deductible
Medical Payment Cover; $10,000
In the state of MA uninsured motorist protection is required by state law too. The minimum amount of cover for UM is 20,000/40,000.
The main factor which is going to determine your car insurance rate in the state of MA is your driving history. If you have a few traffic violations then you may want to consult with your insurance broker, minimize violations, plan out ways to reduce your premium, and if necessary take a recommended defensive driver course to help reduce the amount you pay monthly to your insurer. The second factor is your credit score. You want to make sure your credit score is up to date and if anything needs to be removed attempt to do so since this will lower your auto insurance rates and increase your creditworthiness.
Local Massachusetts Car Insurance Agent
Although the average medical payment cover is $10,000 if you have good health insurance then you may be able to fore-go this type of cover and save a little money. Be sure to compare three to five quotes before purchasing insurance since quotes between carriers can substantially different. Each insurer has their own method to determine what your rates are going to be.