Michigan is a no-fault state and has one of the strictest and most comprehensive no-fault car insurance programs in the nation. Since MI is a no-fault state each driver is required to have Personal Injury Protection (PIP). Michigan’s insurance program is broken down into three parts and is unlike any other state. Personal injury protection is going to cover “you” if you are involved in an accident. Property Protection (PPI) is going to cover the damage you may have done to other peoples property and the amount of cover can reach one million dollars.
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
Covers damages to the other driver and their passengers when the insured driver is revealed to be at-fault in an accident. Under the minimum coverage, the insurance will pay $20,000 to a single person and up to $40,000 for multiple people concerned in the accident.
Property Damage Liability
In the event the other person’s automobile, public property like a place of business or private property such as a residents garage door is damaged in an accident, the minimum property damage liability protection will pay up to $10,000 for damages.
The set limit for insurance in MI is 20,000/40,000/10,000 and although that is the minimum drivers in the state normally get more than the minimum coverage since Michigan can have severe weather during the winter season. Furthermore, the state has a high rate of uninsured motorists, car theft, and a higher rate of accidents than most states in the country.
With all of these factors taken into consideration Michigan is one of the most expensive states to carry car insurance. With Detroit, Dearborn, Southfield, Flint, and Redford being the most costly cities according to aisinsurance.com When you are comparing auto insurance quotes you want to make sure of the main factors insurers are looking for to determine your rate. The primary factors are going to be your driving record, prior insurance, how many years you have been driving, the number of claims in the zip code you reside in, and the make & model of your vehicle.
Since the average premium per year in the state is over $2,000 you are going to want to compare as many quotes as possible to be able to lower your rate. With our system you can compare as many quotes as you wish. The majority of drivers compare three quotes on average, however in the state of MI it would be a good idea to compare five or more to be sure you have a cost-effective policy with equal or more coverage. Drivers should never assume they are getting the lowest rate possible when retrieving quotes from one insurance company.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Michigan
St. Clair Shores
It is important to make sure you are covered while driving in Michigan. The fines and penalties are higher than the nations average which are as follows:
Driving w/o insurance first offense – $500 fine and/or up to one year in jail
You can incur other fines and penalties including substantial court costs
License suspended for 30 days if you cannot provide proof of insurance
If in an accident w/o insurance – Lawsuit and held liable for all damages; you will not be paid for medical expenses or loss of wages
If you drive another vehicle with no insurance – $500 fine and/or up to one year jail
In the state you want to attempt to have a clean driving record since you can be turned down for insurance if you have been convicted of driving under the influence during the past three years and if you have attempted to defraud an insurance company during the past five years.