The state of Mississippi has a minimum coverage of
25,000/50,000/25,000 for bodily injury liability and property damage liability this to help ensure drivers are protected when driving in the state. If you want to drive without the minimum requirement in MS then you can put a cash deposit of $50,000 per vehicle with the state Treasurer. Since many cannot afford the “no insurance” plan most drivers opt to have at least minimum cover for their vehicle.
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
In the event the insured party is at-fault in an accident bodily injury liability covers the doctor’s costs of the other driver and their passengers. When the minimum quantity of coverage is maintained the insurance firm will pay up to
$25,000 for a single person and $50,000 for multiple passengers injured in a
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability covers repairs for damages that happen to the other person’s automobile as well as damage to private and public property such as stop signs, traffic lights, or a place of business. Under minimum coverage insurance will pay $25,000 for repairs that may be required.
Although the state minimum is required to drive the majority of drivers get more than the minimum in the state of Mississippi. The common amounts for coverage are as follows:
Bodily Injury Liability – 25,000/50,000
Property Damage Liability – 25,000
Uninsured Motorist (UM) – 10,000/20,000
Collision Cover – $500 deductible
Comprehensive Cover – $100 dollar deductible
Medical Payment Cover – $1,000
Uninsured motorist protection is not required in the state of MS, but it is recommended to have UM insurance on your policy since there is a high amount of uninsured motorists in places like Biloxi, Gulfport, and Oxford. Car theft and damage from natural disasters is common so carrying comprehensive and collision on your policy is recommended especially if you have a new model vehicle.
The state of Mississippi laws regarding enforcing auto insurance is lenient compared to other states. For example, a police officer cannot pull you over to check and see if you have insurance. The office has to see a traffic violation and then he can ask for proof of insurance. Even the Governor of MS (Jackson) has repealed any laws to electronically find if a driver is without insurance. On the other hand, if you are pulled over for a traffic violation and have no insurance you will be fined $1000, your license will be suspended, and your registration will be revoked until you can provide proof you have insurance in MS.
The best ways to minimize insurance in Mississippi are as follows
Maintain a good driving record
Take the highest deductible you can afford if you opt to carry collision and comprehensive coverage
Ask about discounts
Pay your insurance in a timely manner
It is cheaper for young drivers to be included on their parentsʼ policy
Before buying a vehicle, determine the cost of insuring it
Review your policy periodically
Consider a defensive driving course if you have more than one traffic violation
Local Car Insurance Agents in Mississippi
Bay St. Louis