The minimum coverage for the state of Montana is 25,000/50,000/10,000 for bodily injury liability and property damage liability for each vehicle owned.
If you are in need of a local car insurance agent in larger cities:
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
In the event the insured party is at-fault in an accident, bodily injury liability will pay the doctor’s costs for the driver and passengers of the other car. When the minimum liability protection is acquired the insurance corporation will pay up to $25,000 for a single person and $50,000 for all passengers concerned in the accident.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability covers damages to private and public property like places of business, road signs and guard rails as well as the other driver’s automobile. Under the minimum coverage insurance corporations will pay up to $10,000 for repairs to property.
Although mentioned above is the state minimum requirement, the average driver receives the following cover per vehicle:
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection (UM) – 25,000/50,000
Collision Coverage – $500 deductible
Comprehensive Coverage – $250 deductible
Medical Payment Coverage – $5000
If you have a new model vehicle it is highly recommended to get comprehensive and collision cover in the state of Montana since the winter season is harsh and the potential of hitting animals is higher than the nations average.
Beginning in 2012, Montana being using “real-time” verification to determine if drivers had insurance. The systems in place is called “MTIVS” web service. MTIVS helps police officers determine if a driver in the state of MT has insurance when they cannot provide proof. If there is an accident, even in less populous cities such as Butte and Livingston, the police officers can verify through the real-time system if insurance was in effect during the time of an accident for both drivers.
Fines and penalties
First offense – no insurance – $250 – $500 and up to ten days in jail
Second offense – minimum $350 fine or 10 days in jail; license suspended for 90 days
Third offense – minimum $500 fine and/or minimum 180 days in jail
Second offense for driving without insurance results in five points added to your license and when you reach 30 points your license is revoked.
Local Car Insurance Agents