Ohio’s minimum cover for car insurance is 25,000/50,000/25,000 for bodily injury liability and property damage liability. Ohio is one of the most populated states in the United States with over 13 million residents plus the state has some of the lowest auto insurance rates in the country.
|Coverage||Ohio Minimum Liability Coverage||Recommended Auto Insurance Coverage|
|Bodily Injury Protection||$25,000 / $50,000||$100,000 / $300,000|
|Uninsured Motorist Property Damage||Optional||$25,000|
|Uninsured Motorist||Optional||$25,000 / $50,000|
|Comprehensive Coverage||N/A||$500 deductible|
|Collision Coverage||N/A||$500 deductible|
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
- 1 Bodily Injury Liability
- 2 Property Damage Liability
- 3 If you prefer not to buy a policy the state offers the following alternatives
- 4 Average Coverage in Ohio
- 5 Top 20 cities with the lowest average insurance rate
- 6 Local Car Insurance Agents in Ohio
- 7 Driving without insurance fines and penalties
If the minimum cover is purchased the insurer will cover up to a maximum of $25,000 per person injured or up to a maximum of $50,000 for all passengers injured in the event of an accident.
Property Damage Liability
If the minimum cover is purchased the insurer will pay up to a maximum of $25,000 to cover any damage to the automobile, personal property, and public property, such as places of business, traffic signs, and guard rails.
Since many cities in OH, such as Canton and Dublin, have a significant amount of uninsured motorists it is recommended to get Uninsured Motorist Protection (UM) which will cover damages in the event you are involved in an auto accident with an driver who has little or no insurance.
It is highly recommended to get comprehensive and collision cover for vehicles that cost more than $3,000 or newer model automobiles. Before you decide on a policy it is vital for you to understand the minimum requirements for the state of Ohio.
Be sure you compare more than three quotes since each insurer has their own method to weigh the importance of driving history, credit scores, or your age. Other optional insurance in OH is medical payment cover.
Most affordable auto insurance companies in Ohio
|Rank||Auto Insurance Company||Average Annual Rate|
|18||Merchants Insurance Group||$1,539|
Graph 1 Comparison of Cheap Car Insurance Companies in Ohio
Graph 2 Comparison of Insurance Companies
If you prefer not to buy a policy the state offers the following alternatives
Have a $30,000 deposit with the office of the Treasurer in the state. This can be either cash or government bonds.
If you have real estate equity of $60,000 your can get a bond in the amount of $30,000 signed by two individuals.
A certificate of self-insurance issued by the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV).
A $30,000 bond issued by a surety or insurance firm.
Average Coverage in Ohio
Since there are minimums for each state it is good to know what the average driver in the state of Ohio has covered per vehicle per policy:
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection – 25,000/50,000
Comprehensive Coverage – $500 deductible
Collision Coverage – $500 deductible
Medical Payments – $5,000
Top 20 cities with the lowest average insurance rate
|Rank||City||Average Annual Rate|
Graph of Cities in Ohio with the Lowest Insurance Rate
It is important to make sure your policy is customized to fit your vehicular needs and how you use your vehicle. Be sure to compare as many car insurance rates as possible since there are firms which can offer you more than minimum coverage while maintaining a low cost. Then you will have a policy which will cover your assets without putting you at risk.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Ohio
Click on any city link to find local agents in your area
Driving without insurance fines and penalties
First Offense – Loss of license, plates, and registration until requirements are met. Pay a reinstatement fee of $100.
Second Offense – Loss of license and registration for one year; a reinstatement fee of $300.
Third Offense – Loss of license and registration for two years; a reinstatement fee of $600.
If you fail to surrender your license to the police officer there is an additional $50.00 penalty.
Drivers are required to maintain special “high-risk” coverage on file with the Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV) for three to five years.
Once a driver has been convicted of driving without insurance in a court of law in OH and violates their suspension, their license plates and vehicle will be confiscate for thirty days on the first offense and sixty days on the second offense. For additional offenses the driver’s vehicle will be confiscated and sold at an government auction and will not be permitted to register a vehicle in the state of OH for a minimum of five years.