If you are looking for Oregon cheap car insurance then you have landed in the right place. We will explain what the minimum requirements are for auto insurance, the average amount, any fines or penalties for not having insurance, and a few facts you may have not known about.
Oregon minimum liability cover is 25,000/50,000/20,000 for bodily injury liability and property damage liability which are broken down as follows:
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
Covers doctor’s expenses for the other driver and their passengers when the insured driver is at-fault for the accident. Under the minimum coverage, bodily injury liability will pay up to $25,000 for one individual and up to $50,000 for injuries to all people concerned in the accident.
Property Damage Liability
Covers expenses for the other driver’s vehicle and any other private and public property, such as guard rails and traffic signs damaged in the accident. With minimum liability insurance, the insurance firm will pay up to $10,000 for repairs.
Although Oregon is not a no-fault state it requires drivers to carry Personal Injury Protection for the vehicles. PIP insurance will help pay for loss of wages, death benefits, and medical expenses for up to one year no matter who is at-fault during the accident.
The minimum amount PIP insurance is $15,000. The state also requires all motorists to carry Uninsured Motorist Protection or (UM). The minimum amount is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per crash. UM will cover medical expenses or a “hit and run” auto accident with another driver who does not have or has unacceptable insurance cover.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Oregon
If you have a newer model vehicle it is recommend to get comprehensive coverage which will pay for the damages if the vehicle is stolen, any broken glass or window damage, or any other “non-collision” type of accident. The average deductible in the state of OR is only $100, however it is important to realize the higher your deductible the lower your monthly premium.
On the other hand, if the damage to the vehicle is $2000 you will be required to pay the deductible first. Therefore, if your deductible is $500 then you pay it first and the insurer will pay the other $1500. With a low deductible, such as $100 you pay that amount and the insurer will cover the rest of the damages or, in this example, $1900.
The average cover per driver in the state of Oregon:
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Personal Injury Protection – $15,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection – 100,000/300,000
Comprehensive Coverage – $100 deductible
Collision Coverage – $500 deductible
Fines And Penalties – Driving w/o insurance:
Automatic suspension of your license
Fines, penalties, and court costs which will be hundreds of dollars
Your vehicle will be towed – average cost is $150.00
When convicted you are required to file an SR-22 with DMV
Driving w/o insurance during an accident – automatic suspension of your license for one year.
It is important to note the state of Oregon’s compliance system will randomly select vehicles and will ask the owner to provide proof of insurance. Then you are required to give the name of the firm and the policy number. If you do not respond or have proper “proof” your license will be suspended.
Local Auto Insurance Agents in Oregon – Less populous cities
At Autoinsuresavings we can provide you with low cost car insurance rates. All you have to do is enter your zip code at the top of the page and you will get low quotes from top insurance companies in your area. We have made the system as simple and as fast as possible for you. It is always good to compare three or more auto insurance quotes since insurers weigh determining factors, such as age, driver history, and credit scores differently. The best part of the system is there is no obligation and everything can be done according to your schedule.