If you are looking for Pennsylvania car insurance rates you have come to the right place. All you have to do is enter your five digit zip code at the top of the page and you can get low cost insurance quotes from top insurers in your area. The process takes less than a couple of minutes. If you would like to do a little research then we have provided the minimum cover required, the average cover per driver, fines and penalties for driving without insurance, and other interesting facts you may not know about Pennsylvania.
The state of PA has implemented a “no-fault” policy for drivers which helps to keep the cost of insurance charges down and to lower the amount of court action lawsuits by other no-fault drivers. There are constraints to the no-fault policy when the expenses surpass a set amount then the driver may held accountable for the damaged caused during the accident.
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
The minimum cover is $15,000 for injuries to a single person and up to $30,000 for multiple passengers concerned in the accident. These are the minimum requirements for the state, but the maximum the insurer will pay.
Property Damage Liability
The minimum cover is $5,000 for repairs to any property which may have been damage in the accident. These items are places of business, stop signs, or traffic lights. This cover will pay up to the maximum amount for the other driver’s automobile.
In insurance terms, the minimum cover is 15/30/5 which the numbers are always represented by thousands and are the same as mentioned above respectfully. The state of PA requires drivers to have a minimum amount of medical coverage benefits in the amount of $5,000 which will cover for any injuries you may have incurred during the accident and to any of your passengers. It is important to note many drivers get only the minimum cover if they have a health insurance policy, but you would want to consult with your health and car insurance agent to be sure your health insurance plan will extend to all the passengers. If your health insurance plan doesn’t then you may want to increase the limit of medical cover on your car insurance policy.
The average amount of cover per driver in the state of Pennsylvania
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection – 100,000/300,000
Medical Expense Cover – $5,000
Comprehensive Coverage – $100 deductible
Collision Coverage – $500 deductible
Medical Payment Cover – $0
Fines and Penalties – Driving without insurance in Pennsylvania
Registration suspended for three months
License suspended for three months
Minimum fine of $300
Restoration fees to restore your license and registration
If convicted, you are required to turn over you license, registration, and stickers to PennDOT.
Pennsylvania has not implement an electronic scanning of plate by the police or sheriffs. You have to commit a moving or traffic violation before the police can ask for proof of insurance. If you do not have proof of insurance during the time of an accident your vehicle will impounded on the spot.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Pennsylvania
King of Prussia
At Autoinsuresavings we are committed to helping drivers getting the lowest auto insurance rates in PA whether you live in Wilkes Barre, Williamsport, Easton, or Lebanon. Once you have entered your zip code you will receive auto insurance quotes from top insurers then you are on your way to savings hundreds of dollars over the next couple of years. Once you have found a policy which fits your needs be sure to go over the details with an agent or broker.