Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
Bodily injury liability covers the doctor’s expenses of the other driver and their passengers when the insured is discovered to be at-fault for an accident. Under the minimum auto insurance coverage, the insurer will pay up to $20,000 for a single person and $40,000 for multiple people injured in the accident.
Property Damage Liability
Property damage liability covers repairs for damages that happen to the other person’s car as well as damage to any private and public property. When the minimum coverage is purchased insurance will pay as much as $15,000 for repairs that are required.
Local Auto Insurance Agents – Popular Cities
The list number of Texas minimum requirements is 20/40/15 which is always in thousands and since Texas is the second largest state population wise, (California is first), the minimum requirements are relatively low for a state with a high number of drivers.
As recommend, no matter the state you reside in, the minimum coverage is not adequate, particularly if you have a newer model vehicle. Policy-holders want to be sure they are covered for any unforeseen accidents.
Comprehensive cover is recommended in the state of Texas since there can be harsh weather with heavy rainfall during hurricane season near Houston. Texas also has a high rate of auto theft and if you have comprehensive cover your stolen vehicle will be covered.
If you have a newer model vehicle it would be wise to think about collision coverage too. Even older model cars should consider have some level of collision coverage, particularly driving in big cities such as Dallas, and if you have a loan on your vehicle collision coverage is going to be required in the state of Texas.
Uninsured motorist protection would be a good to consider since Texas has an uninsured motorist rate of one out of every ten drivers driving uninsured. In the northern part of Texas the uninsured motorist rate is lower than in the southern part of the state.
Texas is know for beautiful farm lands and notoriously big 4 x 4 trucks and since the majority of the vehicles are financed getting Gap insurance would be a good idea. Gap insurance is going to cover the “gap” between the “actual value” of the vehicle and what is “left over” or the “gap” from financing the vehicle. For example, if you vehicle has a blue book value of 18,000 dollars and you financed 24,000, but have left to pay the bank an amount of 22,000 dollars then you have a 4,000 dollar “gap”
Fines for driving without insurance
$150 to $450 first offense
Suspension of license
Suspension of registration
Requirement to file an SR-22
If you have multiple offense of driving without insurance in the state of Texas you can get up to 180 days in jail.
Instead of worrying about fines or penalties all you have to do is enter your five digit zip code and get quotes from top insurance companies, such as Progressive, Geico, and Travelers. It is better to have piece of mind than to worry if you are going to be pulled over without a cheap car insurance plan.
This website supplies all the tools you need to find the lowest possible car insurance rates in less then eight minutes. And the best part is you can get as many car insurance quotes you want for free, have your insurance quote emailed to you, ask for the broker to call you back when convenient, or chat with an agent while you are online comparing quotes.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Texas