If you are looking for Utah car insurance rates then simply enter your zip code at the very top of the page and you can get low insurance quotes from top insurers in your area. It takes less than a a few minutes. While you are comparing quotes you can briefly read the state minimum requirements for Utah, any fines or penalties you may incur when driving without insurance, and the average coverage per driver in the state.
Utah law requires each driver who is a resident of the state to maintain minimum coverage. The reason is if you are in an accident your insurer would be able to pay-out for damages.
Bodily Injury Liability
Table of Contents
The amount is $25,000 per person and a maximum of $65,000 for two or more persons concerned in an auto accident.
Property Damage Liability
Set at a minimum amount of $15,000 for damage to property, public and private, such as guard rails, traffic signs, or a persons mail box the other driver’s automobile. When you are comparing quotes you will see the numbers like this: 25/65/15 which are always represented in thousands as mentioned previously.
Utah is a “no-fault” state which means each vehicle owner’s insurance will cover their medical expense or vehicle damage no matter who is to blame for the accident. The purpose of Utah being a no-fault state is to reduce the amount of court filed claims and lawsuits from drivers which in turn helps drive down insurance costs. Since UT is a no-fault state Personal Injury Protection or (PIP) insurance is required for all drivers. PIP insurance will cover medical expenses of the insured driver. In UT if you have a health insurance plan you can opt to get the minimum PIP insurance cover which is $3,000.
There is optional coverage you can get which are comprehensive, collision, uninsured motorist protection, and underinsured motorist protection. Since Utah, like most states, has a significant number of uninsured motorists it is recommended to carry uninsured/underinsured motorist protection or (UM). It it important to know that UT has a comparative negligence law which means both drivers can be at-fault during the accident. Under this law you can collect damages only if you are less than fifty percent “at-fault” during the accident. When the insurers determine who is less than fifty percent at-fault that person can collect for damages.
Common insurance plans for motorists in Utah
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Personal Injury Protection – 3,000 with a health insurance plan
Uninsured Motorist Protection – 25,000/50,000
Underinsured Motorist Protection – 10,000/20,000
Comprehensive Coverage – $1000 deductible
Collision Coverage – $500 deductible
You want to be sure to compare at least three or more quotes from insurers since each one has their own method of determining risk. Although, it is basically the same, each insurer will weigh a determining factor, such as driver history, differently dependent on the company. The average amount for a yearly policy in the state of Utah is approximately $1,245. So be sure to comparison shop to find the lowest rate possible.
Fine and penalties for driving without insurance in Utah:
First offense – minimum $400 fine
Second offense – within a three year period $1,000 fine
Carry SR-22 insurance when convicted
Court costs and fees – approximately $300
Local Car Insurance Agents in Utah
North Salt Lake
Salt Lake City
South Salt Lake
West Valley City
At Autoinsuresavings we deliver auto insurance rates to you in less than a minute with the advance comparison tool at the top of the page. You are able to compare as many insurance quotes as you wish, ask for a broker to give you a call, or chat with an agent online. Everything is set up for your convenience and it is free to find out if you could save forty percent or more on auto insurance.