The state of Virginia used to be pretty lenient about car insurance requirements, however, times have changed and the state decided to combat the uninsured motorists issues and for those which were falsifying documents stating they had an active auto insurance policy when applying for their registration and license plates.
Getting car insurance rates doesn’t have to be time consuming. That is why we have provided you an advance comparison tool at the top of the page to help you find low auto insurance quotes in VA.
If you want to know the minimum requirements we have provided that information for you too.
Minimum Insurance Requirements
Table of Contents
In Virginia the minimum liability insurance for Bodily Injury Liability is $25,000 for one person or $50,000 for two or more people involved in an auto accident.
Property Damage Liability minimum cover is $20,000 which will cover any damage done to private or public property. If you do not want to have the minimum cover in the state of Virginia then you have the option to pay uninsured motorist fee.
You will have to pay $500 to the states Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) every twelve months. However, the fee does not provide you with any coverage.
If you are involved in an accident you will be held liable for any damages that may have incurred. Even though it may seem cost-effective to pay the $500 fee over ninety-eighty percent of drivers prefer to get insurance for their vehicles.
You want to be sure you are covered in the sate of Virginia since they have implemented many monitoring methods to be sure drivers are carrying the minimum coverage for their vehicles.
They have Electronic Verification which works in concert with the insurance companies, and any time a policy is canceled the insurer will inform the department of motor vehicles.
The state has Suspected Uninsured Accident policy and if a driver “suspects” another driver has no insurance during the accident he/she can report it to the DMV and the state will take appropriate actions.
The Law Enforcement Notification is another method to detect uninsured motorists which works with over 100 agencies and police officers to find uninsured motorists at roadside checks.
The last method used in Virginia is Police Accidents Reports and although neither motorist may not want to get their insurance companies involved during a minor “fender bender” the police officer requests information to identify potential uninsured motorists.
Common Auto Policy for Residents of Virginia:
- Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
- Property Damage Liability – 50,000
- Uninsured Motorist Protection – 100,000/300,000
- Medical Payments Coverage – $5,000
- Comprehensive Coverage – $100 deductible
- Collision Coverage – $250 deductible
When you are comparing cheap car insurance in Virginia you want to be sure you get a policy which fits your vehicular needs. Be sure to ask for discounts and many are overlooked such as:
- Paperless discount
- Automatic payments from your bank account or credit card.
- Multipolicy – if you have car, life, homeowners insurance with the same company.
- Multicar – if you have more than one car on the policy.
- Anti-theft devices
- Safety devices
- Accident free driving for three or more years.
- Good student for young drivers who have good grades.
- Low mileage if you drive your car only for pleasure or short distances.
- Pay your premium in full which can save you twenty percent or more.
- Ask about services such as Progressive’s Snapshot program to get a personalize discount.
Local Car Insurance Agents in Virginia