If you are looking for West Virginia car insurance rates to compare or the state minimum cover you have come to the right place. Getting lower quotes is easy by entering your zip code in the advance comparison tool at the top of the page. If you want to learn more about minimum coverage requirements then read on and learn how to reduce your monthly premium today.
The state minimum requirements for West Virginia are as follows
Table of Contents
Since there is a significant amount of uninsured motorists in WV, the state has required all drivers to get Uninsured Motorist Protection (UM) with the minimum amount of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per multiple passengers per vehicle. UM is going to compensate you for your financial and non-financial losses which may have been incurred during the auto accident. You would have a legal claim as a result of the other driver’s negligence or if you are involved in an accident from a hit-and-run driver.
Bodily Injury Liability
The minimum quantity of bodily injury liability cover that must be maintained is $20,000 for any medical expenses of a single person with up to $40,000 for all passengers in the car resulting from an auto accident.
Property Damage Liability
This mandatory cover is for damages to buildings, signs, places of business, and the other person’s vehicle. The insurance firm will cover up to $10,000 if you get minimum coverage.
In insurance terms you would see the numbers like this: 20/40/10 which represents thousands. Although these are the minimum amount of coverage for West Virginia you may want to consider other coverage when comparing cheap car insurance quotes. If you have an expensive vehicle then comprehensive or collision cover would be a necessary cover since it would be protected from theft or a broken window. Collision cover would be necessary if you hit an animal or accidentally ran into a tree, for example. There are other coverages you may want to consider depending on your situation, but be sure to get proper cover for your automobile needs since it is more of a hassle to deal with an accident when you are not insured then when you are insured.
Average coverage per driver in the State of West Virginia
Bodily Injury Liability – 100,000/300,000
Property Damage Liability – 50,000
Uninsured Motorist Protection – 20,000/40,000
Medical Payments Cover – $5,000
Comprehensive Cover – $100 deductible
Collision Cover – $500 deductible
Underinsured Motorist Protection – 20,000/40,000
West Virginia’s fines and penalties for driving without insurance
Registration of vehicle suspended. The reinstatement fee is minimum $100, plus proof of insurance. If the police pick up your license plate; an additional $50 fee.
Suspension of your driver’s license for thirty days – first offense.
Suspension of your driver’s license for ninety days – second offense
If convicted in a court of law, points will be added to your license and your insurance rates will go up drastically.
Local Car Insurance Agents in West Virginia
If you are in hurry you can get auto insurance quotes right from your home with the tool at the top of the page. You will get quotes from top providers to compare and the best part, there is no obligation to find out if you could save thirty or forty percent on car insurance. You want to save money, if you could cut $40 off your monthly premium without sacrificing cover, then you would save almost $1,500 over the next three years. Give it try you might be able to save even more with Autoinsuresavings comparison tool.