fbpx
Phone: 1-(855) 233-7818

Are you currently insured? Yes         No

Start Quote

For Uninsured Motorists Stricter Penalties Seem To Work

Recent statistical data has showed clearly that the side effects for driving without coverage vary seriously from one state to the next. But does the scale of a country’s law against driving without being insured have any bearing on what quantity of people in that state finish up driving uninsured?

The larger insurance firms have the fines and penalties attached to uninsured driving sometimes run up to a few hundred dollars or more, and a touch more than half states need a license suspension period, at least till the offender purchases a policy. In the State of California, according to statistics, the amount of uninsured motorists reach near thirty percent. With the State of California plan for uninsured motorists they have been able to reduce the amount to under twenty percent.

State Comparison of uninsured Motorists

The state uninsured rates ranged between 6.3 percent of drivers in Connecticut all of the way up to twenty-nine percent in the State of Alabama. So do stricter-than-normal uninsured penalties in a state mean that state has a reduced rate of uninsured drivers?

The average uninsured rate was about the same for the a few states with the hardest and others with the weakest penalties. The average for the top States was sixteen percent. The average for the States having a weaker penalty was approximately eighteen percent.

Even faced with the most serious effects, New York’s motorists drive without cheap auto insurance at a rate that lands the state in the average for uninsured motorists. The Big Apple has the 20th-highest rate of uninsured drivers in the U.S, with roughly 14.3 percent of motorists on the road without policies. Fines in New York for drivers not driving with insurance go from $500 to $1,500, and other penalties include a yearlong license suspension and community service. No other state in the country has as long of a license suspension period for first time uninsured motorist as New York. And no other states impose such a large fine that is accompanied by both a long license suspension period and a community service obligation. The state with the next-harshest penalties is New Jersey, where a fine between $1,000 and $3,000 can be levied against uninsured motorists, who also face a half-year license suspension.

The state also has a less-than-average uninsured rate, with more than ten percent unlawfully going without insurance, the 21st-highest rate of uninsured automobile drivers. In reality there are a few states with the hardest penalties had uninsured rates that were below average, but only a little. And Kentucky really had a higher-than-average uninsured rate being the sixth highest State placed with a whopping eighteen percent uninsured rate. In Kentucky, if you are in violation of driving without insurance then the fines can be higher than five hundred dollars. A second offense in the State of Kentucky increase the fines and likely jail time of fourteen to thirty days.

The state with the softest penalties for driving without coverage is Idaho, which only charges a hundred dollar fine for anyone driving without insurance. There is not a suspension period of the license. Even with the lack penalties for driving without insurance Idaho has near nine percent of drivers driving without insurance. That is a reduced rate than any of the states that were ranked as having the toughest penalties.

Implications in the State of California

Of the states with the laxest implications, only one had an uninsured rate that was in the top ten of all states in the U.S. But that state, California, is wrestling with more major issue with its uninsured car drivers, which makes the State with the second-highest rate of uninsured drivers in the U.S. In California, both first time and repeat offenders face maximum fines of $500, and just about twenty-eight percent of drivers are computed to take their possibilities by driving uninsured.

South Carolina, with fifteen percent of drivers lacking coverage, has the eleventh highest uninsured rate but also has looser-than-normal penalties. Fines and charges in the State amount to $460 and registration suspension till coverage is proved. New Mexico, which needs offenders to pay only between $250 and $500 for driving without being insured, had an uninsured rate of over eight percent, the 31st-highest in the country.

Ultimately, North Carolina, the state with the some of the less than normal penalties had a rate that was nearly average hitting an all time high of over fourteen percent in 2012.

In Massachusetts, offenders also have their license postponed for sixty days, while Maine offenders get a license suspension till they can prove coverage is in effect. At the other end of the range, Mississippi had the highest uninsured rate: twenty-nine percent Regardless of the big issue there, the fine is only five hundred dollars and a suspension of driving entitlements till coverage is ready and ultimately an increase in your car insurance quotes for a period of time.

Greg Fowler

Greg Fowler

Managing Member of AutoInsureSavings LLC, Greg enjoys writing articles to help drivers save on anything related to automobiles. Travel and enjoying the outdoors are some of his hobbies. The best way to reach him is at Google+ or Facebook Profile.

Comments are closed.